Whole30: Day Two

Image

Today’s Food:

Breakfast – Banana Bread LARABAR and a tangelo

Lunch – Spicy pumpkin seeds, grapes, leftover herbed chicken 

DinnerPulled pork in lettuce wraps with homemade salsa

Snack – Gala apple

 

I’m finding that “meals” have changed for me. It’s more a series of snacks throughout the day. So keep in mind that “breakfast” and “lunch” sort of span the whole day until dinner.

I was sort of shaky today and had a light headache I couldn’t shake. I’m guessing from the sugar detox? Other than that it was a good day as far as cravings go. I wasn’t even tempted by the leftover pasta salad in the fridge – though I am going to send the rest of it with husband tomorrow. Just in case.

The pork really was easy! But then again, isn’t everything in a slow cooker? Hence why it’s my favorite kitchen appliance. It really heated up our house today, though. No air conditioning in Colorado + a slow cooker and the dryer going in my kitchen all day = me roaming around in as few clothes as possible. Phew it’s hot!

I made up this salsa recipe after a visit to our local organic grocery store and checking out some recipes online:

Image

Fresh Lime Salsa

– 3 large tomatoes, diced

– 1 small onion, minced to diced depending on your preference

– 1/4 teaspoon salt

– 1/2 teaspoon pepper

– 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper (we are spicy wimps in this house, so add whatever you can handle!)

– 2 tablespoons minced cilantro 

– 1/4 cup lime juice

Mix all ingredients and stick it in the fridge for a couple hours! Easy peasy!

Image

And the final product – pulled pork lettuce wraps with salsa!

Leave a Reply

