Whole30: Day 3 – A day of new recipes!

Eats Roundup:

Breakfast – small blood orange, coconut cream pie LARABAR

Lunch – Salad with leftover chicken, hard boiled egg, bacon and a dash of red wine vinegar

Dinner – Kale chips, chili-lime cashews, gala apple

Dessert (WHAT?!) – Banana ice cream

I did not feel deprived at all today. I had my favorite kale chips, some yummy cashews and a nice salad. AND FREAKING BANANA ICE CREAM. It was so good. I would have posted pictures of it but it was basically gone as soon as it hit the bowl. Whoops.

I’ve been making kale chips for about a month now as a nice salty alternative to potato chips. My best friend thinks they are odd because she used to feed her guinea pigs kale. It’s understandable. I’m not sure I would have been as willing to try them if it was something I used to feed my pet. But the heart wants what the heart wants, and my heart wants kale chips by the ton, please. I’ve tweaked a couple recipes and after much trial and error I’ve come up with this:

Image

Crispy Crispy Kale Chippies:

Ingredients

– Kale (I usually only make enough for one serving at a time, so I use 1-2 leaves depending on how hungry I am.)

– Sea salt

– EVOO

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 275 degrees F.

2. Remove the rib or tear off the leafy part. Tear leaves into 1.5 to 2 inch pieces.

3. Pour the EVOO in a bowl and use your fingers to rub olive oil all over (Wee! That’s fun to say!) the leaves and lay them on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil.

4. Bake for 15 minutes.

5. Remove baking sheet and flip kale chips. Add salt at this time.

6. Bake for 5 more minutes.

7. ENJOY! (Unless you used to have guinea pigs.)

In addition to kale chips, I made my own chili lime cashews. I was getting bored with regular cashews and went to Whole Foods to see if they had any better options. They didn’t. Thus, this recipe was found and made.

Image

Chili-Lime Cashews:

Ingredients

– 1.5 cups whole cashews

– 1/2 teaspoon olive oil

– Juice of one lime

– 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (Again, we are wimps. Add more if you can handle.)

– 1 teaspoon paprika

– Salt as needed (my cashews were already salted so I didn’t add any).

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 250F

2. Whisk together all ingredients (except cashews!)

3. Toss in the cashews and either use your hand or just swish (that’s a cooking word, right?) them around in the bowl until they are all deliciously coated.

4. Lay them out on a baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes.

Hope you guys enjoy these recipes! Let me know if you have a favorite way to doctor up plain nuts… I’ll be needing ideas!

1 thought on “Whole30: Day 3 – A day of new recipes!”

  1. Kale, cashews and an apple? That hardly sounds like a full, balanced meal. It looks like you are way undereating. Also, when doing a whole30 you are not supposed to cook with olive oil–only use it as a cold dressing.

Leave a Reply

