Whole30: Days 18 through 20 – Too Many Grapes on the Dancefloor

I have been having a hard time lately with just replacing nonsense/not hungry eating with healthier foods. I notice that when I get bored I feel like it’s okay to eat an entire Costco sized container of grapes (I’m ashamed of how close this is to not being an exaggeration) because they’re healthy, right? But I’m not hungry. So I shouldn’t be doing it. Ho hum pig’s bum.

Day 18 Eats:

Breakfast – Two hard boiled eggs, Apple Pie LARABAR

Lunch – Grapes, raspberries, cashews, baby carrots

Dinner Slow cooker country-style ribs with mashed sweet potato

These ribs were okay. I didn’t add the molasses and sugar and all that goodness, which is fine if you prefer savory barbeque. I, however, like my barbeque sauce sweet. I tried adding an apple in at the end to sweeten things up, but it didn’t work. Maybe if I try this again I’ll add mashed up cranberries or something at the beginning. Any suggestions? The mashed sweet potatoes were great, though! Hint: sweet potatoes and nutmeg are best friend foods for life (BFFFL’s, if you will).

Day 19 Eats:

Breakfast – Cherry Pie LARABAR, apple with almond butter

Lunch – Nitrate-free salami (I do not recommend. It smells like farts and has an aftertaste similar to rubbing a rotten onion on your tongue), grapes, raspberries, cashews

Dinner – Lemon Garlic Tuna Salad (I adapted this salad recipe from this tuna burger recipe) and asparagus

Image

Lemon Garlic Tuna Salad:

Ingredients

– 12 oz. canned tuna (the only kind I could find without soy was packed in olive oil)

– 3 to 5 tablespoons homemade mayo (depending on your tuna salad preferences!)

– 1/4 cup green onion, diced

– 1 teaspoon lemon juice

– 2 tablespoons fresh parsley

– 2 cloves garlic, minced

– 2 tablespoons diced dill pickles (optional)

– Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Mix all ingredients together and enjoy! Great on top of a salad, in a lettuce wrap or by itself!

Also, if you are not doing Whole30 (or if you are better at figuring out how to substitute things in recipes than me), MAKE THE TUNA BURGERS. They were so delicious. My husband and I ate two apiece when I made them the first time (pre-Whole30)! So much for serving 4… not in this house, people.

Day 20 Eats: 

Breakfast – Cherry Pie LARABAR, two scrambled eggs

Lunch – Almonds, leftover ribs, grapes, baby carrots

DinnerSpaghetti Squash Bacon Alfredo

Image

The bacon alfredo stuff was gooooooood. Definitely satisfied my pasta craving. I can’t wait to try spaghetti squash with a homemade marinara of some sort. Yummo. I couldn’t find “squash delicata” (I guess we are not fancy squash-eatin’ folk around here) so I used butternut. 

EXCITING NEWS! Well, it’s exciting for this girl who is getting tired of cherry and apple pie LARABARS. Checked out the energy bar section at Whole Foods (why did that take me so long? I buy bacon there every week!) and they have every flavor of LARABAR. The only problem is that they are near a buck fifty at Whole Foods and the sad little selection at the commissary only charges 88 cents. I splurged, though, and can’t wait to eat these flavors this week – 

Image

I am especially looking forward to the Cappuccino flavor. Wish I hadn’t already eaten one today…

Leave a Reply

